News 2011-2012

Senior Project Design Awards

(December 7, 2011) Students of the Senior Design course, CSE379, presented their research to a group of CSE and CSB alums and CSE faculty. The purpose of the Senior Project course is to involve students with the design, implementation, and evaluation of a computer science project that represents a real-world scenario.

Jon Schiavo and Dylan Rush won the Outstanding Senior Project award for their poster, “NEBULOUS: Networked Space Flight”.  Professor Hector Munoz-Avila served as their advisor. Jonathan Hardy and Michael Caffrey presented a poster entitled “Microfinance: The Game” and received the Peers’ Choice award for their effort. They were advised by Professor Michael Spear.

The posters were judged by Sara Dillon '84, Managing Director at NYSE Euronext; James Maida '85, President and Co-Founder of Gaming Laboratories International and Scott Menzer '07, Consultant with IBM Global Business Services.  


Professor Hector Munoz-Avila, Jon Schiavo and Dylan Rush, Outstanding Senior Project winners and Professor Brian Davison, course leader.


Professor Michael Spear, Peers' Choice winners Jonathan Hardy and Michael Caffrey and Professor Brian Davison, course leader.

CompE Senior Design Awards

(May 2012) - Students of ECE 257/258 & CREG 257/258,Senior Project, presented their senior projects to Electrical Engineering and Computer Science Faculty and several industry representatives. The Senior Project couse is a one-year,senior-level lab that has students of electrical engineering and computer engineering complete a design, construct and test products selected and finish with a final design review and presentation. William Haller, professor of practice in the Electrical and Computer Engineering Department, and Mooi Choo Chuah, associate professor in the Computer Science and Engineering Department were the instructors of the course.

The 2012 first place Senior Design poster winners were Steven Avena, Henry Luo, and Jordan Thimot who developed a device to detect high-impedance faults.


First Place poster winners Steven Avena, Henry Luo, and Jordan Thimot pictured with Mooi Choo Chuah and William Haller.

ACM Programming Contest

(November 7, 2009) Zubair Chaudary, Justin Sonntag and Karol Zieba represented Lehigh as the C++ team at the ACM Mid-Atlantic USA Collegiate Programming Contest held at Wilkes University. The team received an Honorable Mention at the event. Andrew Lexa, Scott Woodward and Joseph Siefers represented Lehigh as the Java team. Professor Henry Baird served as their coach.

acm icpt_1_cropped

                ACM Programming Team

Appropriations awarded to CSE Department

The Department of Computer Science was recently awarded a congressional appropriation totalling nearly $1 million to work toward building a national resource for document analysis and exploitation. Henry Baird serves as the PI, with Dan Lopresti and Hank Korth serving as co-PI's. This work builds on an existing relationship the department has established with BBN Technologies in Cambridge, MA to support DARPA's MADCAT (Multilingual Automatic Document Classification Analysis and Translation) effort.

© 2014-2016 Computer Science and Engineering, P.C. Rossin College of Engineering & Applied Science, Lehigh University, Bethlehem PA 18015.